Asta

13 Mar

astaRecently nominated as a James Beard semifinalist for Best New Restaurant, there has been a lot of buzz around Asta and I wanted to see what it was all about. Located at 47 Massachusetts Avenue, it was spearheaded by Alex Crabb — Ex-Sous Chef of L’Espalier– and his girlfriend Shish Parsigian. Asta stands for Alex & Shish’s Tasting Adventure. Cute, right?

THE ATMOSPHERE

I loved the ambiance of the restaurant: every nook and cranny emanated coziness. The decor was fun, the music  jiving, the people vibing and I was oh so happy with my fur trimmed seat. To start the night off right, we were welcomed with a glass of sparkling wine. Who wouldn’t enjoy that?

asta

asta

asta

THE FOOD

When it comes to food, Asta only offers a 3, 5, or 8 course tasting menu. We decided to try the 5 course menu:

asta menu

astaYou could find your cutlery by pulling out the utensil drawer within the table for use throughout the meal. What a nice touch!

asta

Amuse-Bouche

asta

Cauliflower, Trout Roe, Mushrooms, Lemon Sauce, Fried Capers

To begin, we had cauliflower. I never thought I’d like cauliflower as much as I did, yet this flavor pairing had me at first bite.

asta

Monk Fish in Bacon Broth with Brussels Sprouts and Pickled Mustard Seed.

The Monk Fish was hands down my favorite dish of the night. It was cooked to perfection and complimented well with the Brussels Sprouts and Bacon Broth.

asta

Braised Celery, Chicken skin, Black Gnocchi.

asta

Beef with Kale and Chestnut Puree.

asta

Black Cocoa Pavlova alongside Passionfruit and Olive Oil.

To end the night, we had the Black Cocoa Pavlova. This dessert was spectacular. I loved how there was a light airiness to the passionfruit that was contrasted with a cripsy pavlova texture that had a hint of chewiness.

THOUGHTS

Next time I’m back, I want to sit at the counter to the open kitchen for a more intimate experience with the team. Maybe I could even squeeze in a few questions too!

Asta is a term that is affiliated with goodbye — (H)asta la vista, baby. But, before you say goodbye to the weekend or Boston in general, make sure you do yourself a culinary solid and stop by Asta.

ASTA

47 Massachusetts Ave
Boston, MA 02115
(617) 585-9575

Asta on Urbanspoon

4 Responses to “Asta”

  1. Anathalia March 13, 2014 at 11:00 am #

    I can’t wait to try Asta! I loved the picture of the cutlery inside the little drawer! How creative!

    • Elizabeth Halle March 13, 2014 at 11:02 am #

      It is so so creative on all accounts. I can’t wait to hear how you like it!

      xo Elizabeth

  2. mystylewire March 14, 2014 at 12:59 pm #

    Ohh yes the cutlery in the drawer is a very nice touch! Looks very tasty!

Leave a Reply

