Meet Maddie of Chocolate Hollow

3 Feb

Maddie of Chocolate Hollow

I was also able to ask Maddie a few questions about she got Chocolate Hollow started.

1) How did you get into chocolate?
I can’t remember life before I met chocolate. At first it wasn’t even “real” chocolate that I loved. As a child, Cadbury’s Dairy Milk was where it was at! In my family, chocolate eating (in moderation) was never discouraged- nobody was ever on a diet. As I grew up, I learned more and more about real chocolate. My father is not remotely into Catholicism, but when he married my mother he really embraced the concept of lent. Every year, with difficulty, he would give up his daily dose of his favorite deep dark chocolate- all so he could feast on a truly enormous chocolate rabbit on Easter Day. These bittersweet bunnies, which were easily over two feet tall, were specially made (and transported overseas) by his favorite chocolatier in England, Mr. Henry. Most typical daydream: I am Wonka.

I went vegan about six years ago, and really missed milk chocolate. I love dark chocolate just as much, but milk and dark chocolate are such different species! As a college graduation gift, my parents bought me a hobbyist chocolate making setup. I started with some recommended recipes for dark chocolate, and then started playing around with making a vegan “Schmilk” milk-style chocolate. There were a couple fails, but then I found some happy results. Then I started to think of selling it-

Perhaps I can be Schmonka!

2) What’s next for you?
I’m now almost a year into this project. It has been very much a testing phase, business wise. I’ve done lots of farmers’ markets and low budget business building. It has been a bit taxing, and I am so excited for the next year! I am now in my own kitchen space, and am in the process of upgrading my equipment so I can produce enough to sell to a wider region. I want to bring vegan chocolate and fun chocolatey candy bars to the mainstream!

3) Aside from chocolate, of course, what’s your favorite dessert?
Strawberry rhubarb pie!

4) Do you ever cook anything with your chocolate? If so, what?
I love to make ice cream- my favorite ice cream flavor is chocolate-hazelnut. I make a heavy cashew cream and blend it with hazelnut gianduja (similar to nutella) and pop it in the ice cream machine. (I have one of the cute little ones with a handle for stirring.) I also chop up bars from the seconds pile and put the chunks in cookies and pancakes.

4 Responses to “Meet Maddie of Chocolate Hollow”

  1. Diana Mieczan February 4, 2014 at 8:10 am #

    Maddie sounds wonderful and now I need to try some of her “Schmilk” – Love the name. Kisses.

    • Elizabeth Halle February 4, 2014 at 11:42 pm #

      It really is spectacular. I would have never thought it to be so unique and tasty but boy was I wrong. You should definitely check her out. She is very talented!

  2. Anathalia February 4, 2014 at 9:22 am #

    I went on a vegan diet for a few months a while ago and this was when I really got into dark chocolate. A dairy-free milk-style chocolate sounds heavenly!

    • Elizabeth Halle February 4, 2014 at 11:42 pm #

      It really is! Perhaps you win, if not you should still try 🙂 So good!

Leave a Reply

