GIVEAWAY: Chocolate Hollow

3 Feb

Chocolate Hollow

What better way to celebrate Valentine’s Day than with chocolate. Whether it be from a significant other, family, or just treating yourself, there’s always a good reason to savor this treat. I mean.. studies say it’s good for your heart. I’ll take that any day.

While I was down in Miami for the winter holidays, I had the pleasure of meeting Maddie from Chocolate Hollow. Having tried her “schmilk” (dairy free milk-style) chocolate, I couldn’t believe how tasty it was. The big differentiator was that it was dairy free. As a practicing vegan, she found herself craving chocolate on the reg and decided to do something about it. In talking to her about her process, she let me know that Chocolate Hollow creates small batches of chocolate from organic and fair-trade cacao beans. Each batch is ground for about three days to reach the desired smooth consistency. A lot of care is taken to produce very special chocolate bars.

Maddie wants to share the love by sending a lucky reader a variety pack of her schmilk-chocolate.

Chocolate Hollow The pack includes:

1) Classic Bittersweet (in silvery blue foil)- 72% cacao. Current bean: Peruvian Criollo- Delicate, with subtle fruity flavors. Notes of strawberry, toasted pecan. Please flip the bar over to see the leaf pattern.
2) Schmilk (in purple foil)- This is a vegan milk-style chocolate, designed to emulate traditional sweet candy-like chocolate.
3) Serious Schmilk (in gold foil) – This is a vegan milk-style chocolate with 55% cacao.
4)Toffee Crunch (in burgundy foil)- A layer of rich and crunchy Hollow-made toffee is encased in a bar of Schmilk.
5) Hazelnut Crunch (in dark blue foil)- Organic Oregon hazelnuts are lightly toasted and submerged in a bar of Serious Schmilk.

She’s also working on a Hazelnut Gianduja Log: A log-shaped bar, with creamy Hollow-made hazelnut gianduja inside Schmilk chocolate. Made with organic Oregon hazelnuts.

Chocolate Hollow What is most unusual about her line of chocolates is that it includes various types of milk-style chocolate bars. High quality milk-style chocolate bars are unavailable on the market and she’s hoping Chocolate Hollow products will fill this void. If you’re interested in sampling some separate to entering the giveaway, check her out online!

Winner of Chocolate Hollow GiveawayAnd the winner is Erin!

To enter:

1) Leave a comment at the end of this post saying your favorite thing to make or do for Valentine’s Day. 

2) Tweet about the giveaway (optional) : copy and paste – “I entered @ehellah’s Chocolate Hollow giveaway!”

Giveaway closes on Friday, February 7th at 5pm!

38 Responses to “GIVEAWAY: Chocolate Hollow”

  1. cmsterzel February 3, 2014 at 11:07 am #

    My favorite thing to do on Valentine’s day is to make a meal together, and then maybe just cuddle up on the couch by the fire and enjoy. I don’t like the hustle and bustle of trying to go out to eat on the same night that everyone else is out. A quiet night at home is the best!

    • Elizabeth Halle February 3, 2014 at 10:06 pm #

      I agree, night’s at home are the best! I do love a good pre fixe meal at a place though; allows for a discounted price at a place that might not be as within reach on a normal night!

  2. erin February 3, 2014 at 11:58 am #

    I second cmsterzel! I enjoy making a nice easy meal (like a homemade pasta sauce), with a bottle of wine and a fun dessert (thinking of a chocolaty cast iron skillet creation this year). I’ve been playing with a few vegan recipes and love the idea of vegan chocolate, I’m sure it’s divine!

  3. Rosie February 3, 2014 at 3:47 pm #

    I like to make heart cookies and batch them up in cute little packages, and give them to elderly home bound in my area. I also give away some red fabric flower accessories – headbands and hair elastics, that I make, to teens who are having problems or the homeless ladies who come to the library.

  4. sunshower120 February 3, 2014 at 5:21 pm #

    As a kindergarten teacher, I have my students decorate and write Valentines for the elderly at the local assisted living home. I’ve been doing it for three years now, and the tradition has caught onto a lot of other classes at the school.

    • Elizabeth Halle February 3, 2014 at 10:07 pm #

      That is such a cute idea. I’m going to pass it on to one of my best friend’s who is a teacher as well!

  5. AMP February 3, 2014 at 5:36 pm #

    My favorite thing to do on Valentine’s Day is throw an Anti-Valentine’s Day party. Get your single friends together and enjoy a few too many bottles of wine. Not as wholesome or romantic as other commenters, but entertaining nonetheless!

    • Elizabeth Halle February 3, 2014 at 10:08 pm #

      I mean…who could say no to wine? And when you add chocolate to the mixxx…

  6. Molly February 3, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

    Ooooo I’m dairy-free and drooling over these!

    For valentines day I always handmake some cards for the special gals in my life – mom, sisters, and friends.

    • Elizabeth Halle February 3, 2014 at 10:12 pm #

      Seriously, they are to die for. So nom!

      I love the idea of handmade cards; I think I will do that this year!

  7. sarah February 3, 2014 at 7:50 pm #

    I love getting with girlfriends and drinking wine! I love them more anyway

    • Elizabeth Halle February 3, 2014 at 10:12 pm #

      Amen! A good wine with great friends is always the best night ever.

  8. Anathalia February 4, 2014 at 9:19 am #

    I used to like to have dinner at busy restaurants and all that stuff. But I might be getting old because now I’d rather stay at home, watch movie and drink hot chocolate! 😉

  9. Keya Millionie February 4, 2014 at 11:17 am #

    I love to make chocolate covered strawberries and bring them to the “Single Mingle” party my friends and I do. Even if we’re not single because we’re not there to actually meet people, just to hangout and have a good time. We usually put on valentine themed horror movies and and play games.

  10. Hannah February 4, 2014 at 11:44 am #

    I’m not a huge Valentine’s Day celebrator, but I do like to use any excuse possible to go out for a great meal or go away for a weekend.

    • Elizabeth Halle February 4, 2014 at 11:38 pm #

      Oh yes. 2 of my favorite things…Come away with me ? 😉

  11. Joanne Gregory February 4, 2014 at 12:00 pm #

    I love to go out to dinner on Valentine’s day! Chocolate is always appropriate, too.

    • Elizabeth Halle February 4, 2014 at 11:38 pm #

      Going out to dinner, esp on Valentine’s Day, is one of my favorite thingsss!

  12. Joanne Gregory February 4, 2014 at 12:01 pm #

  13. Jess February 4, 2014 at 12:26 pm #

    My favorite thing to do on Valentine’s day is to splurge on a delicious dinner and try new foods at a new restaurant! I LOVE FOOD!!!

    • Elizabeth Halle February 4, 2014 at 11:39 pm #

      ME TOO. Where are you headed this Valentine’s Day???

  14. littlemissrunshine February 4, 2014 at 12:27 pm #

    Tweeted! 🙂

  15. Stacey Jones February 4, 2014 at 12:33 pm #

    I always bake something special for my husband, this year I think it will be red velvet related.

    • Elizabeth Halle February 4, 2014 at 11:40 pm #

      That is so sweet! Anything red velvet related is always welcome in my book! 🙂

  16. Shelby February 4, 2014 at 9:13 pm #

    Ummmm… That chocolate sounds absolutely delicious… and healthy! What could be better..? On Valentine’s Day, I love to make chocolate cupcakes with good friends if I don’t happen to be with that special someone 😉

  17. katrinaebang February 5, 2014 at 9:33 am #

    Hmmmm…
    My favorite thing to do on valentines day is to share my love with family, friends, and lovers by making homemade valentines day cards and calling those who live somewhere else!

  18. Kelly G. (@vegandaemon) February 5, 2014 at 10:02 am #

    The husband and I usually make a heart-shaped pizza!

    • Elizabeth Halle February 5, 2014 at 10:04 am #

      That is the most precious thing I have heard. I need to start doing that, even just for a party. So fabulous!

      xox Elizabeth

  19. susitravl February 7, 2014 at 3:36 pm #

    I like to make something very different, like standing rib roast. And the most decadent dessert recipe I can find.

  20. Amber G. February 7, 2014 at 4:34 pm #

    My favorite thing to do on Valentine’s Day is to go away for a few days with my partner. A few years ago we rented a cabin in the White Mountains of NH. It was great! Thanks for the great giveaway!
    karmakaytlyn(at)yahoo(dot)com

  21. Amber G. February 7, 2014 at 4:35 pm #

    I tweeted here:https://twitter.com/karmakaytlyn1/status/431903972576620545
    Thanks again!
    karmakaytlyn(at)yahoo(dot)com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. vegan chocolate avocado cookies | gibble me this - March 4, 2014

    […] won I won! I won a giveaway! thanks to my girl Elizabeth over at Little Moments of Happiness, I’m the proud owner of a bunch of vegan chocolate. well, not really a bunch anymore, as […]

Leave a Reply

