The Easiest Lentil Recipe You’ll Ever Follow

15 Jan

When a girl (this girl) is busy, she’s busyyyy. When time becomes a luxury, it becomes tough to cook proper meals. Thus, any really good but very simple and quick recipe is always welcome in my book. I’d prefer that than a frozen food meal ANY DAY.

Yesterday, I followed the lentil recipe on the Trader Joes’s lentil bag that was so easy it’s unbelievable.

Lentil Recipe Ingredients

All you need is:

  • 1 cup whole small green lentils, sorted and rinsed
  • 21/4 cups low sodium broth
  • 1/4 cup white wine (I used a 1/3)
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp TJ’s Everyday Seasoning to taste (I used 1 tbs)
  • 2 tbs Badia Completo Sazon* (My own addition – if you have a spanish section in your aisle at the supermarket, you more than likely can purchase this seasoning. I bring it up from Miami. It is true love.)

Directions

  1. Add lentils, broth, wine and seasoning (except salt) to a sauce pan and bring to a boil.
  2. Reduce heat to low, cover with a lid and simmer until tender and the liquid is almost absorbed, 35 to 40 min. (I did 45 min.)
  3. Salt to taste and serve simple or add toppings of choice. (I paired with quinoa.)

Easy Lentil Recipe

5 Responses to “The Easiest Lentil Recipe You’ll Ever Follow”

  1. Appetite for Instruction January 19, 2014 at 5:28 pm #

    Oooh, will be trying this soon! I think that Star Market in Porter carries a lot of Badia seasonings 🙂

    • Elizabeth Halle January 20, 2014 at 9:50 am #

      If not, I will give you some. My mom always brings up from Miami!! Let me know if you find 🙂

  2. Appetite for Instruction January 19, 2014 at 5:31 pm #

    ❤ lentil recipes! Going to peep Star Market to see if they have the Badia Completo Sazon .

  3. Diana Mieczan February 25, 2014 at 10:18 am #

    I love lentils and this recipe sounds awesome. Thanks, love. xoxo

    • Elizabeth Halle February 25, 2014 at 10:42 am #

      Thanks deary 🙂 I usually add a cut up chicken sausage–I usually go with a garlic flavored one–to the mix post creation (in the case I’m sharing with vegetarian friends at whatever point) and it is oh so so yummy.

      xx

Leave a Reply

