GIVEAWAY: Boston Ballet’s The Nutcracker

22 Nov

Boston Ballet Nutcracker

‘Tis the season to be jolly. (Too early to say that given that we haven’t even celebrated Thanksgiving? NEVER.) What better way to kick off the holiday season that with a pair of tickets to see the opening night of Boston Ballet’s The Nutcracker. The two tickets I am giving away are for Friday, November 29 at 7:30pm at the Boston Opera House.

Boston Ballet's Nutcracker

Boston Ballet's Nutcracker

Misa Kuranaga and Jeffrey Cirio © Gene SchiavoneThe Nutcracker returns to the stage from November 29-December 29, 2013. This year’s production features the full company and over 250 Boston Ballet School students, along with the visionary designs of Robert Perdziola.

How to enter:

1) Leave a comment at the end of this post saying your favorite thing about the holidays.

2) Tweet about the giveaway: copy and paste – “I entered @ehellah’s @bostonballet giveaway! ” http://wp.me/p2mhPQ-U0 (optional)

The giveaway ends on Monday, November 25th at 5 pm EST. Good luck :)

32 Responses to “GIVEAWAY: Boston Ballet’s The Nutcracker”

  1. Andrea (@andrav23) November 22, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    By far my favorite holiday tradition is walking around the city and taking in all of the holiday lights, sights and sounds. I love the hustle and bustle of the holidays and the festive energy that it brings to the city!

    • Elizabeth Halle November 23, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

      I agree completely! Tonight they are lighting the tree in Faneuil Hall at 7:30!

  2. Cindy November 22, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    I love the Nutcracker, and what a great blog Elizabeth, I am going to have to consult it for my Sunday Brunch Schedules!

    • Elizabeth Halle November 23, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

      Thank you! If you have any restaurant types that in you’re interested in trying, I’d love to send you recommendations too!

  3. alainaisbouts November 22, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    my favorite holiday tradition was always christmas eve with my family. i come from a big italian family in new york, and christmas eve was always a big day. during the day my dad would take us to walk 5th avenue, do any last minute shopping and see the tree at rockefeller center. then we’d all go back to my great-grandmother’s house in queens where all of us – at least 30! – would have the feast of the seven fishes and exchange gifts. my uncle would call out each person’s name on the gift tag and rattle a tambourine, and everyone would cheer. those are the best holiday memories i’ll ever have.

    • Elizabeth Halle November 23, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

      That sounds so spectacular! I come from a medium sized family that’s spread throughout the world. My Christmas eves were very different in that sense but I hope to have the same kind of Christmas Eves you detailed with a family one day! You must be so excited knowing next year you’ll have a little boy to include in the festivities!

  4. Ravi Jain (@ravidjain) November 22, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

    Favorite thing about the holidays? Vintage holiday music — on vinyl! #hipsterdad

    • Elizabeth Halle November 23, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

      That rocks! (Pun intended) Do you have a favorite holiday artist that you listen to?

  5. Janee Lookerse November 22, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the Nutcracker! And I have yet to visit the Boston Ballet 🙂 My favorite thing about the holidays is my husband and I’s Christmas Eve traditions. Walking in the snow, looking at lights, dinner, almond champagne, and A Christmas Story. So fun! Thanks for the giveaway!

    • Elizabeth Halle November 23, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

      Almond champagne, that sounds fabulous! Where do you get this?

  6. KatieYaoLove November 22, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

    #FamilyTraditionMidwesternStyle–Light up a barn fire, roast marshmallow over fire, chat with my family with my puppy on my lap.#FamilyTraditionEastAsianStyle–Sit in the living room with my parents, watching whatever is on TV and snacking. Lucky for me I will enjoy both this winter 🙂

    • Elizabeth Halle November 23, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

      That sounds so fabulous. I want to bring roast marshmallows over the fire in Miami this winter 🙂

  7. Kate November 22, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    Favorite things, hmmm. Family, friends, Christmas music always on in the background. Oh and can’t forget Starbucks red cups!

    • Elizabeth Halle November 23, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

      Can’t forget the deliciousness of Holiday Starbucks drinks. Yum!

  8. Sue November 22, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

    My favorite thing about the holidays is the holiday music,lights,family,love,presents,baking,shopping in short everything!

    • Elizabeth Halle November 23, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

      What do you bake during the holidays? I am always looking for new recipes 🙂

  9. Sue November 22, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

    i tweeted-https://twitter.com/queensumi/status/404083943634255872

  10. Lauren November 22, 2013 at 11:47 pm #

    My favorite thing about the holidays are food and family! Why is the food so much better around the holidays?

    • Elizabeth Halle November 23, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

      I couldn’t agree more. Is there a staple item that you love to make during the holidays?

  11. Kate November 23, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    Love cinnamon rolls on Christmas morning while we are all still waking up. Love this giveaway!

    • Elizabeth Halle November 23, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

      That isn’t the first time that I’ve heard this as a tradition. It sounds quite spectacular. I think I might have to incorporate it into my tradition this year…

  12. Olivia Bento November 23, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

    My favorite thing about the holidays is the quietness of the streets…. For the simple reason that people are cozy and warm in their homes with their loved ones and for once, in the crazy fast culture we live in, everyone slows down a little to enjoy what really matters in life: our loved ones.

    • Elizabeth Halle November 23, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

      Your response is so refreshing. In these times, I feel like everyone is crazed with gift shopping and getting everything ready for the holidays that there are times when we forget to think about the beauty that the holidays bring. I must say I cannot wait to spend time with my family this holiday season! Wishing you the greatest in this holiday time 🙂

  13. Susie Concannon November 23, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

    The holiday season is my absolute favorite time of year, but it has the tendency to fly by so quickly that I can’t enjoy it as much I would like. After running at a frantic pace for a month and a half, on Christmas Day my family has a huge pajama party. No one cooks (we order Chinese food). No one dresses up (pajamas are mandatory for everyone, grandparents included). No one gives gifts (that happens on Christmas Eve). We just relax, enjoy each other’s company, and reflect on how blessed we are.

    • Elizabeth Halle November 23, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

      What a different and fantastic way to celebrate! That sounds so lovely and really allows you to capture the true nature and love on Christmas!

  14. Tim Nelson November 23, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

    A Christmas getaway to the White Mountains with my family every year is what I look forward to during the Holiday Season.

    • Elizabeth Halle November 23, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

      That sounds lovely! I miss a white Christmas; I usually go home to Florida for the holidays!

  15. Lynda B Sponholtz (@lbanzi) November 24, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

    Exchanging advent gifts with my hubby, baking cookies, seeing the Christmas Revels, & seeing family.

  16. Kassandra November 25, 2013 at 10:51 am #

    I love how the holidays brings a focus on quality time with loved ones. We all run around so much and I think its great that the holidays give us an excuse to pop open a bottle of wine with girlfriends or get together as a family and eat way to much! I just love the warm fuzzies that come with a warm fire and a cup of hot chocolate in front of the tree!

  17. Antonio Fluker November 25, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

    The best thing about the holidays are that they are special in many ways, no one has the same agenda and yet everyone expects the best things from them. From being able to spend time with the people that you love and care about the most, to donating time and/or food for the less fortunate, to remembering the days when you were young and would see all of the family together. Holiday pictures and parties, the enchanted forest, the nutcracker, the lighting of the tree, everything leading up to this time of the year, the not so good year you may have had, or the best year in a long time you could be having. Either way, giving thanks to be able to enjoy the good times, and embrace the not so good times. The holidays are about all the best things in life all coming together in a 3-4 weeks span. Creating memories while giving thanks for the memories of old. Thanks Elizabeth for the inspiration to figure out what the holidays actually mean to me.

  18. Courtney November 26, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

    My favorite thing about the holidays is definitely spending some quiet time at home with my family. No tv, no cell phones, no work – just great food, company, and conversations.

Leave a Reply

