Lets Get Technical: Boston Girl Geek Dinner

21 Jun

Boston Girl Geek Dinner

This past Tuesday I had the opportunity of heading over to VMWare headquarters in Boston for a special gathering of “Boston Girl Geek Dinners“. Having found the event through my favorite spot, Eventbrite, I figured why not do something different on a Tuesday night? The event comprised of  a fun night of learning, networking, eating and drinking! How could one say no?

I decided to put a little pizazz into my outfit for the night and busted out a pair of new shorts that I bought while visiting my grandmother. Yes, I’m obsessed with them. Yes, they were less than $15. AND, Yes, they are from JCPenney. I recently discovered the amazing revamp that was done to this store. Their Juniors section has such cute and quality items; it is actually mind blowing.

My shnazzy JCPenney outfit

As I made my merry way over to Cambridge, I was excited to step into a new experience, particularly because I am not well versed in the world of the specificities of cloud hosting. Upon walking into the office, I was taken aback at how the soft green hues paired so very well with the wooden and white surroundings. It gave me a sense of tranquility and comfort.

VMWare Boston OfficeBelow you’ll see where the festivities began. Their cafeteria space was so fun. They had a couch area with a TV and some game consoles. Talk about a fun way to kick back during lunch time.

VMWare Boston Office

The first talk was on Hybrid Cloud Service. This conversation was natural, as VMware is a global leader in virtualization and cloud infrastructure. They enable enterprises to adopt a cloud model that addresses their unique business challenges. In this discussion, we talked through some of the benefits of its inclusion such as the fact that this service line is highly available and reliable, lower cost and maintenance affiliated, seamless network, and based on existing products.1st Girl Geek Dinner Talk: Hybrid Cloud ServiceNext was my favorite talk of the night by Elizabeth Borowsky from Akamai Technologies Inc. She spoke how the internet networks function and how people take for granted that the internet doesn’t just run. Instead, it is networked through servers and mapping considerations must be taken into account before content is served to the end user from the “closest” server. While it was never something I thought about prior, having heard this talk really got me thinking about the intricacies that work together for our internet to function.

2nd talk at Boston Girl Geek Dinners:  Akamai TechnologiesLast, but by all means not least, was a talk by Chrissie Cui from VMware. Her talk on DevOps was very engaging and quite comical  not things one always attributes to technical information. That being said, my mind was certainly changed on the vast nature of the tech world and I want to continue to learn more. She mentioned three reasons why we need DevOps:

  1. Everyone is moving to Agile.
  2. There are big possibilities in automation.
  3. DevOps is very deterministic in one’s success.

Nevertheless, there are some challenges presented in this area: high availability, scalability, consistency of server, and, most importantly, security. Even with these challenges, she mentioned there is much room for growth and learning. She compared it to the path of the Jedi. It was by far my favorite piece of the presentation.

Tech Talk at Boston Girl Geek Dinner: DevOpsAs the night came close to an end, I walked back home over the Harvard Bridge to meet my friend for a nightcap.

Boston SkylineWe ended up at Lolita Cocina + Tequila Bar in the Back Bay. I had my classic drink: Strawberry Basil Mojito. It includes Bacardi superior rum, mint, fresh strawberries, cucumber, basil infused cane syrup, and lime.

Strawberry Basil Mojito at LolitaI just found out that Lolita has a special this upcoming Monday, June 24 for all you can enjoy tacos. For $7 , from 5pm to 1 am, they’ll keep the beef or chicken coming as you pair it with a delicious drink such as my mojito above or you can choose from a great selection of margaritas!

One Response to “Lets Get Technical: Boston Girl Geek Dinner”

  1. Maria Tettamanti July 8, 2013 at 10:17 am #

    I love your zest for learning and those shorts!!!

Leave a Reply

