A Confession

30 May

I hate to admit it, but I don’t have the answer to everything. I wish I did so that I could comprehend some situations I get myself into, but at the end of the day, it’s all a learning experience, right?

That being said, in the last year of blogging, I have learned a lot about the online space and myself. Some things I’ve learned in this experience are:

  1. Blogger friends are a different and very special kind of friend. You can meet through a twitter conversation or a local meet-up. Either way, this kind of friend will know the journey you’re going through and, in my experience, will be there for you even if you just met a few days before.
  2. Looking to Twitter to ask a question is usually more helpful than asking Google. With all the immediate responses catered to your specific inquiry, it’ll certainly also make you feel more popular.
  3. Blogging is more than just writing posts: It also incorporates creative and design, copy-editing and technical support are needed. (Working on a revamp for my blog at the moment – scary but so so exciting)
  4. That being said, keep a few evergreen pieces up your sleeve. Life is crazy. You never know what may arise that will side track you from your schedule. Having pieces that are always relevant to your user can provide some leeway in times where something unexpected arises.
  5. Blogging (even in this short period), in itself , has changed my life. I have made so many new friends, attended so many extraordinary events, and ultimately had a voice that I can share in my own dedicated space.

My main man, Mr. Ben Franklin once said, “Without continual growth and progress, such words as improvement, achievement, and success have no meaning.” Thus, there is always room for more learning.

Blog Inc

I picked up Joy Deangdeelert Cho’s Blog Inc book from the library yesterday. In just reading the foreward, I became so excited to learn more about adding  and gaining value to my blog from fellow bloggers. Maybe after reading this, I’ll have more answers to everything.

What are some life lessons you’ve learned from blogging???

Leave a Reply

