Mucho Mango

30 Apr

One thing I miss about being back in Miami is the amount of mangoes I had at my fingertips. My neighbor had a plethora of mangoes every summer that she’d pass onto me. I would use it for smoothies, salads, and just something to snack on. Having been home for a few days, I gorged on this favorite fruit. One of the simplest, yet most delicious ways to incorporate it is by adding chopped walnuts. The sweet and salty pair themselves in such a delightful way that you’d never think you’re eating as healthy as you are!

Mango and Walnut snack combination

What are the benefits of eating mangoes?

Fresh mangoes have many benefits, one being {in my mind} they are delicious and low in calories. Not only that, they are a good source of fiber, accounting for 2.6 g per cup (1/8 of your necessary daily serving). Fiber can also help with prevention of heart disease, colon cancer, and Type 2 diabetes. This fruit is also a great source of vitamin A and folic acid.

Source:Livestrong

Leave a Reply

