Tips to Stay Healthy

12 Apr

I have a feeling I’m coming down with a cold. I am doing my best to keep it away, and hopefully my body approves. I had a good nights sleep and this morning I had an emergen-c smoothie and I am looking to keep well hydrated throughout the day. I did some research on best remedies for fighting a cold and here is what I found:

  • Gargle with salt water: (my dad loves to remind me of this one – clearly I forgot about it / put it in the back of my mind) According to a study by the American Journal of Preventative Medicine,  people that gargled warm salt water three times a day were less likely to get sick during cold season.
  • Drink hot liquids:Tea and soup! Hot liquids soothe inflamed membranes that line your nose and throat.
  1. Don’t have time to make soup? Check out the verdict for which canned soup is best.
  2. Feel like making it? Here are 60 of the best recipes found on the interweb.
  3. My current favorite tea.

How do you fight the bug??

 

2 Responses to “Tips to Stay Healthy”

  1. Maria Tettamanti April 15, 2013 at 10:46 am #

    Feel better and sleep a lot!

  2. Liz April 15, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    I’m in the habit of drinking a million (okay, about five) cups of green tea/day – so good.

    A few more suggestions:
    – echinacea (tea or supplements)
    – water with lemon juice and honey
    – honey in general
    – garlic (raw if you can, or lightly cooked)
    – lots of fresh fruit and veggies, not a lot of dairy

    Hope you feel better!

Leave a Reply

