From the 305 & Proud of It

5 Mar

Call me cray, but seeing as today is 3-05, I got some nostalgia for my hometown, the city where the HEAT is on, Miami. While we have had some “warmer” days up here in Boston, what I would give to be in Miami even for just one day. If I had a whole day, here’s what I would do:

I would start my morning by stopping in for a cafecito and tostada from Mojito Grill. This place has got their Cuban cuisine on lock. I was a loyal customer back in the day when I had to get some energy juiced into my veins through the vehicle we call caffeine.

Cafe con Leche and Tostada at Mojito Grill

Next, I would stop by Merrick Park and enjoy the greenery and do some window shopping. Hopefully there would be some jazz in the garden.

Merrick Park

{Source: America’s Premier Shopping Places}

Since I was in the neighborhood, I’d drop by Jaguar – one of my favorite Miami restaurants. It’s Peruvian cuisine, particularly the lomo saltado, always brings me back to the days of visiting my Dad’s hometown of Lima. I might even offer them some tips to crafting a mighty fine Pisco Sour.

Lomo Saltado at Jaguar Miami

Later I’d pop by Books & Books and grab a book to stop by my favorite coffee shop, Pasion del Cielo.

Pasion del Cielo Dadeland

As I’d near the end of day, I’d just like to hang out home with my parents and brother (dog) Riley, while chowing down on some Chicken Kitchen. (I definitely pulled a Gisela (my mom) and said Kitchen Chicken).

Riley & Me

Oh how I miss my Miami faves. Hopefully I’ll be down in the near future to re-enact this wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

