Common Ground

29 Jan

This past Wednesday, I was delighted to join the Boston Brunchers in dining at Common Ground in Allston, MA. Ironically, my first Boston Brunchers was a dinner, but nevertheless, I was so excited to meet a fabulous group of people to go out and enjoy a meal with — I love the blogging community, particularly those who share a love for all things food!

Common Grounds

Common Ground is located off of Washington Ave in the heart of Allston, MA. Heading over to meet the group for dinner brought me back to my days of attending Boston College. Aside from the brutal wind chill that I experienced when walking off the T, heading back to the neighborhood near my alma mater was magical. I had forgotten the coziness of the area and all the amazing memories and fun experiences I had had nearby.

With that said, I do not make it into Allston that much anymore as my life has now migrated to downtown Boston. Nonetheless, I am so happy that Renee reached out to me to come to an evening of food, fun and friends. Upon first glance, walking in, one might think Common Ground to be more a bar setting. Let me set the record straight that while it is a bar, the food is PHENOMENAL. Every item on the tasting menu was well thought out.

Tasting Menu

Sitting down, I took a look at the menu. I did not think I was going to be able to exit the restaurant after the completion of the 6 different items, but I was excited to see the diverse nature of food that I’d be scarfing down over the next hour.

We started off with a sweet potato soup. I am a huge fan of sweet potato, but had never had it in soup form: it had a nice sweetness to it. The goat cheese added the savory piece to it. Unfortunately, I cannot have cheese, so I had to pass on that part, but overall I was happy to be sipping on something warm on a night where it was 15F outside!

Sweet Potato Soup

Next came the steak salad. While I’m not one to be drawn to red meat in a salad, I have to say this plate could change my opinion on that.  The ingredients were beautifully paired and really complemented each other, but the final touch that really sealed the deal was the dressing. I don’t know what was included in the green goddess dressing, but my description of it could fit in ‘one’ word: finger-licking-good.

Steak Salad

This is their Turkey Burger. This was by far my favorite dish of the night. This all natural ground turkey burger was served with cranberry mayo and bacon. Usually, I like to shy away from bacon, but I am SO HAPPY I decided to chow down on this burger as is. Not only were the combination of flavors amazing, but later I found out it was turkey bacon. The chef thickened it in such a fashion that it tasted like real bacon. Although we only had tiny tidbit of the sandwich, I knew this was the plate for me. I’m definitely coming back for this bad-boy.

Turkey Burger

Next on the menu was the drunk pork. This pork belly was beautifully paired with a fruit salad. My favorite combination was the pork with the apple: the tenderness of the pork mixed with the crisp nature of the apple was quite exquisite.

Drunk Pork

Truffle Fries. I actually did not try these, but from what I heard they were great, particularly paired with Common Ground’s pesto mayo.

Truffle Fries

When dessert came around, I didn’t think my stomach could handle any more, but then I remembered it was chocolate butterscotch bread pudding. Bread pudding is by far my favorite dessert.  I was smitten after having devoured this delicious dessert.

Bread Pudding

And if all that wasn’t enough, there was also goodie bags. These good bye gifts had a recipe for Common Ground’s well known Peanut Butter Pancakes with Strawberry Jam (this will end up being a future post on the blog). I can’t wait to put on my shirt and get cookin’ in my kitchen.

Goodie Bag

Goodie Bag II

Thanks, Common Ground, for a great meal full of fun conversation and interesting food combinations. Also, it was so great to meet the Boston Brunchers! I look forward to future events with you all.

Note: This meal was provided to the Boston Brunchers free of charge from Common Ground. I was asked to write a review of my dining experience at Common Ground. All of the opinions expressed here are my own.

7 Responses to “Common Ground”

  1. Megan January 29, 2013 at 9:31 am #

    So sad I missed this! Looks like a fabulous meal, and glad you had a good time with the Brunchers! Such a fabulous bunch 🙂

  2. Renee {Eat.Live.Blog.} January 29, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

    It was so great to meet you and share such an amazing meal! I look forward to doing it again soon!

    • Elizabeth January 29, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

      Likewise! I look forward to future events. Please let me know if you need any help brainstorming some places or just to set up some blogger events in general. I’d love to help!

  3. Bob O'Guin January 29, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    Thank you so much for coming to our event and for your kind words. Full size turkey burger with your name on it when you make it back here!

    • Elizabeth January 29, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

      You will DEFINITELY see me back at Common Ground. I cannot wait until I make it back in!

  4. Liz February 2, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    It was so nice to meet you! I completely agree – everything was way beyond my expectations. Maybe you can order the truffle fries without cheese next time, because they were SO good.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Common Ground – Little Moments of Happiness | Boston Brunchers - January 29, 2013

    […] of Allston, MA. Heading over to meet the group for dinner brought me back to my days of attending Boston College. Aside from the brutal wind chill that I experienced when walking off the T, heading back to the […]

Leave a Reply

