Adaptability is the Route of the Future

11 Jan

A few years ago, I could have mistaken UX for the intensity of light emitted from the sun; mainly thinking it to be how high on a scale of 1-10 I’d be able to work on my tan. (I mean..I’m from Miami.) Since then, I’ve come to understand that UX actually represents a thought process companies utilize with regards to user experience and optimizes products and services based on what interactions really engage a user . According to Peter Merhloz, user experience “is a broad term used to explain all aspects of a person’s experience with the system including the interface, graphics, industrial design, physical interaction, and the manual.” This area of work is quite fascinating.

In the past two nights, I have gone to two events (UX Boston Social Hour & Can Cleantech Be Sexy – A Cleantech + Design Panel) surrounding themselves around this area and it has been really interesting. Between meeting new people and hearing their stories, I could not be happier to be part of these events.

When taking a step back and assessing what I got from these interactions, I must say that there was one thing that really stood out in my mind, a comment made from a man on the panel at Cleantech. He said, “Adaptability is the route of the future.” When I took a second to really think about what he had said, it really got me thinking. Think about it; 1700 era of transportation was horses, then in the 1800s came the carriages, 1900s the automotive industry spearheaded by Ford himself, and today we have a variety of means to commute across land, ocean, and sky. In the last few months, I’ve really enjoyed developing some ideas for business models (after I get my MBA) to execute in the marketplace. I will definitely take into account some of the things I learned from tonight, in addition to other life experiences (obviously) and catch up on some reading material recommended to me in the meantime. Sometimes all it takes is one thought to get you thinking in a different way…

Leave a Reply

