One Tribe

12 Oct

 

I feel like Black Eyed Peas have had a great impact on the music community not only with great beats, but meaningful lyrics. Let’s take it back nearly 10 years to when “Where is the Love?” came out. When this came out, my twelve year old self probably did not realize this representing a heartfelt prayer for those suffering in the world. It cries out against hate and encourages love for one another. It is a request for peace, love and understanding.

 

Today, having listened to a Friday Funday playlist, another song by this group caught my attention. One Tribe, released 2009 (wow, I’m on the late train). The lyrics are really catchy and moving. When I first heard it (yes, I’ve played it more than once today) I wanted to start dancing.  From what I gather, the message of the song is that the entire world comes together in harmony. A central lyric to this song is, “One Tribe, one time, one planet, one race, it’s all one blood, don’t care about your face, the color of your eye or the tone of your skin.” These lyrics are so simple, yet a great social commentary for where our world stands today.

Leave a Reply

