Goin’ Bananas

23 May

It is said that having breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Unfortunately, the only true breakfast food I enjoy is French Toast. While there are many amazingly healthy versions of this meal, I could not live off, nor do I have the time to solely consume French Toast. I have recently gotten back into a smoothie phase and I am happy to say that I have found a very easy, delectable morning shake.

The best part of this shake is that it takes 2 minutes max to make. After countless snoozes on your alarm, it is the perfect remedy to your alarm clock driving you nuts.

Goin’ Bananas

Ingredients:
¼ cup oats
¼ cup peanut butter
1 frozen banana (sliced)
¾ cup almond milk

To prepare, first put in the oats (I used Quaker Instant oats) into the blender. Then add the rest of the ingredients and voila!

20120523-094250.jpg

4 Responses to “Goin’ Bananas”

  1. Christina May 23, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    I make the same shake! But I like to add a little Chobani non-fat plain Greek yogurt for some added protein! Also, perfect for a post workout shake!

    • Elizabeth May 23, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

      Or you could even put in some protein powder. I find myself doing that more often now and love the hint of vanilla taste attributed to it.

      I was just thinking, for a twist on Goin’ Bananas, substitute peanut butter with nutella????? I think that’d be a yummy experiment!

      • Christina May 23, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

        I add the protein powder as well. Never thought of adding nutella! That sounds delicious! Might even keep the PB. Little chocolate/peanut butter flavor? Can’t beat it!

      • Elizabeth May 23, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

        It’s like a banana Reese’s Peanut Butter cup (my favorite chocolate) smoothie. Should we trademark it? I think so!!!

Leave a Reply

