Roasted Pepper & Garlic Chicken Sausage Lettuce Wraps

25 Apr

I took my leftover pasta to work today and the taste of the sauce the day after was spectacular! I was left satisfied, but, paradoxically, craving more. Of course, finishing lunch meant I had to begin thinking about what I was going to eat for dinner.

Since I had a more carb enriched lunch, I decided I wanted a lighter dinner. Quite honestly, I never thought the concoction I created for dinner would occur, but it did, and it was great! Also, it was SO easy.

Image

Ingredients

1 Avocado

1/2 Cucumber

3 Chicken Sausages (The Original Brat Hans – Roasted Red Pepper & Garlic)

Cooked Chickpeas

Balsamic Vinegar

Garlic Powder

Completo Sazon

Cilantro

Cinnamon

Prep

1. Take an avocado and half a cucumber and chop it into small pieces. Combine into a small bowl.

2. Make the dressing for the veggies. (I winged it, but I would say its approximately 2 TBs balsamic vinegar, 1 ts garlic powder, 1 ts completo sazon, pinch of cilantro, pinch of cinnamon <– adding that hint of cinnamon added balance to the acidity of the vinegar)

3. Boil chicken sausage for 10 minutes. Once cooked, cut into small pieces.

Wrap

1. Take lettuce pieces. I only had Romaine – definitely better to use Iceberg pieces for a more convenient grip.

2. Add pieces of sausage, veggies, and chickpea mixture. (The chickpea was cooked earlier in the day with a combination of tomato sauce, onions and cut up bell peppers)

3. Wrap up and enjoy!

Lettuce Wraps

This was enough for my Mom, Dad and myself. Everyone enjoyed it and went for a little more after, so I don’t think they ate it just because they’re my family and felt obliged. They’d be the first to tell me they didn’t like it. Such love!

2 Responses to “Roasted Pepper & Garlic Chicken Sausage Lettuce Wraps”

  1. Aimee @ ShugarySweets April 27, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    This looks wonderfult! I love lettuce wraps!

Leave a Reply

