Cookin’ Mamma Maria Style

24 Apr

I don’t know how many of you have eaten at Mamma Maria in the North End of Boston, but if you haven’t, you probably should. Mamma Maria is the epitome of an Italian family dining experience and boy is the food goooood! Hands down, I can rely on having my favorite lobster ravioli every time. On the menu, you can find it as Lobster Pasta: “Silky pasta agnolotti filled with fresh Maine lobster, – finished with pan-roasted wild mushrooms, and crumbled guancale.”

Reminiscing back to my days in Boston, I decided I wanted to make an Italian dish for dinner.

For starters I made a basic bruschetta on top of bagel chips. So delish!

Stumbling upon Life as a Lofthouse, I saw an Easy Spaghetti Sauce and voila, it was decided! I was going to try this new recipe and put it on top of a good portion of whole wheat pasta! Man was this a good and fulfilling recipe! The aggregation of sugar into the recipe gave it a different, savory taste that I was not familiar with but truly enjoyed.

I modified the recipe to add some components I liked more but I will put the initial items from the recipe in parenthesis:

1 pound lean ground beef
1 Tablespoon chopped basil (dried parsley)
1 Tablespoon finely chopped raw onion (dried minced onion)
1 Tablespoon Badia Completo Sazon (Italian seasoning)
1 Tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 24-oz can Prego Roasted Garlic & Herb (3 (15 ounce) cans) tomato sauce

Ingredients

Meat Seasoning

DIRECTIONS:  In a large pot, combine ground beef and all ingredients except tomato sauce. Stir and break up the ground beef over medium-high heat, until fully cooked.

Easy Sauce

Slowly stir in the tomato sauce and heat to a boil. Reduce heat to low and let simmer 1 hour. Serve over spaghetti or your favorite noodles. Enjoy!

Final Product

Leave a Reply

